Professor K. L. Sebastian FASc., FNA

J. C. Bose National Fellow, Department of Inorganic and Physical Chemistry, IISc. Bangalore
IISc Logo

Current Group Members

Ph.D. Students


Rohit Jain
August 2009 — present
Research Interest:   Theoretical Chemistry
E-mail:  rohit[at]


Sravan Kumar Perumalla
August 2010 — present
Research Interest:   Computational Chemistry
E-mail:  sravan[at]


Koushik Goswami
August 2012 — present
Research Interest:   Theoretical Chemistry
E-mail:  goswami[at]


Tarun Gera
January 2015 — present
Research Interest:   Theoretical Chemistry
E-mail:  tarungera[at]

Undergraduate Project Students

Deepak Vinod

Deepak Vinod
August 2015 — present
Research Interest:   Theoretical Chemistry
E-mail:  ugdeepakv[at]


Past Group Members

  1. P. Ananthapadmanabhan (Faculty at Govt. College Kerala)
  2. P. Narayanan (Govt. College Pattambi)
  3. G. Nalini
  4. Bidisa Das (IACS Kolkata)
  5. K. P. Santo (Central University of Kerala)
  6. Aniruddha Chakraborti (Associate Professor at IIT Mandi)
  7. Ananya Debnath (Assistant Professor at IIT Jodhpur)
  8. Priyadarsi Satpati (Assistant Professor at IIT Guwahati)
  9. Rajarshi Chakrabarti (Assistant Professor at IIT Bombay)
  10. Rosabella Puthur (St. Joseph's College Irinjalakuda)
  11. Swathi Rotti Srinivasamurthy (Assistant Professor at IISER Thiruvananthapuram)
  12. K. Sumithra (Associate Professor at BITS Hyderabad)
  13. Deepika Janakiraman (Postdoc at NCBS Bangalore)
  14. Pallavi Bhattacharyya (Postdoc at Cornell University)

Past Student Visitors

I have had a few student visitors to my lab. Typically these are students who are at the first or second year of their Masters degree and they spend about two months in the lab. Some have been supported by the Indian Academy of Sciences/IISc. Most of them have chosen to continue in Research.

Some of the former visitors are:

  1. K. Kiran Kumar (IIT Kharagpur)
  2. V. Charulatha (IIT Kanpur, now at MatScience)
  3. P. Balanarayan (University of Pune, now Assistant Professor at IISER Mohali)
  4. Keshav Kumar (IIT Madras, now at US)
  5. C. M. Janet (Calicut, now at IIT Madras)
  6. Rajarshi Guha (IIT Kharagpur, now at US)
  7. Sayan Bagchi (IIT Kanpur, now at NCL)
  8. M. Reddy Bogala (Pondicherry)
  9. N. Arun Kumar (M.G. University, now at North Carolina)
  10. Sabyashachi Mishra (Hyderabad, now at IIT Kharagpur)
  11. Nandini Ananth (IIT Madras, now Assistant Professor at Cornell Univeristy)
  12. Sumana Sengupta (Calcutta, now at BARC)
  13. Ambili S. Menon (CUSAT, now at US)
  14. Swati Srinivasamurthy (IIT Guwahati, now Assistant Professor at IISER Thiruvananthapuram)
  15. Janardhan Kundu (IISc., now at NCL Pune)
  16. G. Padmesh Srinivas (MG Univeristy, now at Massey Univ.)
  17. Goulven Pourtau (Univ. Rennes)
  18. Nicholas Miller (MIT)
  19. Aparna Mukherjee (IIT Roorkee)
  20. Sheena Panicker (Kerala, now at Fatima Matha College Kollam)
  21. Vani (CUSAT)
  22. S. Siddharth (NIT, Warrangal, now at US)
  23. N. Bala Saidulu (IIT Roorkee, now at ONGC)